Our Sense of Wonder

“Without wonder, men and women would lapse into deadening routine and little by little would become incapable of a life which is genuinely personal.” -John Paul II 

My theology class is seriously awesome. We’ve only met twice so far, but I’m enamored. In one of those two lectures, our Jesuit professor went over the importance of our sense of wonder. It sounds so silly (and nerdy) of me to admit, but I absolutely loved what he had to say. Wonder is key. As the quote explains, our lives would turn into a “deadening routine” without it. And it makes sense, too! Having a strong, perceptive sense of wonder somehow fuels my happiness. Thinking about something bigger and beyond myself is so inspirational: it makes me smile and fills up my bucket!  I thank God for the ability to feel this sense of wonder, to be curious, and to reflect. Like Father Scholla said, the human is made for revelation, and revelation is a cause for joy. With wonder comes revelation, and with revelation comes joy. I can dig it.  

Leave a Reply

