Progress

Growing up is hard. I don’t think I’ll ever abandon some childlike tendencies, but in order to function, I do need to grow up a little. I posted a little review praising “Adulting” recently. I truly did love that book, because it put being an adult into a perspective I could gauge. Sure, it won’t happen overnight, and there are lots of things about being a responsible adult that can’t be written in list form. I’ve noticed a huge shift in me over the summer, though. My life has been in a season of change since graduating, and I kind of just realized this. It’s silly to say since I was doing my independent-sort-of-adult thing all year; but I think I actually am able to wrap my mind around the fact that I’m growing up. Working two jobs, helping out with the house, having to cook for myself,  manage my own money, and all of the other adult-ish things I’ve been doing this summer are awesome accomplishments for me to look back on and say, “hey, I can do this!” Again, there’s so, so much more to being a legitimate functioning adult. Seeing my progress is cool, though, and I’m proud of how far I’ve come this summer. My next task is figuring out how to appropriately be a child as an adult 😉

Leave a Reply

