Jesuit Volunteer Corps

With Gwen off on her mission and doing amazingly well, I’m even more inspired to go on a service mission. I had always wanted to do something post-undergrad. I considered Americorps, but then another great friend of mine told me about the Jesuit Volunteer Corps. How I hadn’t heard about it, I don’t know. I’m beyond glad she filled me in, though. God would have been at the center of this trip for me, so naturally I should be going with a group that would foster my spiritual growth. This wouldn’t be happening until three years from now, but regardless, I’m excited at the prospect of it. The opportunity to go on an international trip for two years is just fantastic! Really, that would be amazing. To throw things back to a post from a few months ago: I want to do my part as a winner of the “birthplace lottery.” I was born into a family that provided me with a home, and food, and extensive education. I feel an obligation to give back as much of myself as I can. I’m not sure what God has planned for me in this area of my life, but I know it will be special, and maybe it will be with JVC! Has anyone gone on a mission with JVC, internationally or domestically? Or know anyone who has?

Leave a Reply

