Positivity

I’m typically described as a positive individual. I enjoy being happy. And I like smiling. Smiling’s my favorite.

I realized something today, though. Being happy can actually save your ass. Up until this morning, I had taken my uncanny ability to be dapper and cheerful totally for granted.

As part of the CF application process, we have to participate in a group interview session so that the communities we’re interviewing for can get an idea of how we work in teams and with others. They took place this morning, and it’s mandatory. As in, if you don’t go, you don’t get the job. Be there at 8:30 sharp. Got it?

I planned my outfit, painted my nails to match that outfit, set my alarm, and went to bed last night with a slough of emotions. I was excited and nervous and all that good stuff, all at the same time. Once I heard my alarm go off, my emotions swelled up again, and I hopped out of bed. I looked at the clock on my wall, which read 10:00. I figured that it must have stopped last night, so I reached for my phone. It was the CF I live with, who was part of the team running the interviews. My heart dropped. I slept through it.

I’m not sure if I’ve ever gone over me applying to be a CF in a post, but long story short, I want to be a CF. Like, I really really really want to. I had put so much emotion and thought and effort into the application, stressing about the odds of actually getting the job, and thinking about all of the fun stuff I could do as one. Now my chances were ruined because my smart phone had outsmarted me.

Have you ever heard of a “weekday” alarm? Well, apparently, they are alarms that only go off during Monday-Friday. Not Saturday. Whoops!

In a succession of receiving this phone call, panicking, the toilet overflowing (dorm problems), hurrying to get ready, and putting myself together, I managed to really shock myself. I realized that getting overly upset about what happened would do absolutely nothing for me. It would mess up my makeup, make my mood sour, and I would have bombed the interview slot I was allowed to participate in. My subconscious kicked in and said, “just laugh about it and move forward.” So I did, and when my best SCU friend ran over to my room to console me, she was just as shocked to see me smiling and getting ready to walk out the door. Lesson from today’s ordeal: stay positive, because life happens, and the only way to get through it is with a hearty laugh and a light heart.

Image

Leave a Reply

