Time

“The trouble is, you think you have time.” 

-Buddha 

How many times do you decide upon doing something and then catch yourself and say, “later,” or, “after college,” or “when I have time?” I cannot count how many times I’ve pinned something on Pinterest about travel and thought to myself, “this would be so fun to do, sometime in the future.” When in the future? Five years from now? Ten? Twenty?  This might clash a little with my post about giving my future up to God, but this quote has a true ring to it that can’t be ignored.

 It’s preaching spontaneity to me. It’s proclaiming the importance of experience. It’s teaching us to stop putting things off and to be mindful of our time. Most of all, it’s a simple and necessary reminder that life is short. We need to get busy living, people! Memories are made from unforgettable moments shared between friends that often take place on adventures. I’m not saying they can’t happen in the most mundane places, too, but honestly, how often do stories start out with, “I was going through the usual motions of my day and following my typical routine when…”

 We don’t have the time we think we do. I only have three and a half more years of college, then what? Maybe a demanding job, a family, a house and pets? This is why we’ve got to make the most of this season of life: we’ll never get it back. Live in this moment. Take in the little things around you. Planning for the future might be assuring, but it’s also stressful, and you’re probably never going to be spot on with your plans. Ever. Ariana said it perfectly, “Today is the only reality we can live in. We have to make it count.”

 Make today count. Make this season count. Make your time count.

20 thoughts on “Time

  1. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is important and everything.

    But imagine if you added some great pictures or video clips to
    give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and video clips,
    this blog could certainly be one of the very best in its field.
    Superb blog!

  2. Admiring the time and energy you put into your site and detailed information you provide.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date
    rehashed material. Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m
    including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  3. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading
    it, you may be a great author.I will be sure
    to bookmark your blog and will often come back from now
    on. I want to encourage you to continue your great work, have a nice holiday weekend!

  4. I usually do not drop a lot of comments, but after looking at through a
    few of the responses on College & Cupcakes. I actually do have 2 questions for you
    if it’s allright. Is it simply me or does it seem like some of these remarks look like they are coming from brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional online social sites, I would like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Would you post a list of the complete urls of your shared pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  5. Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice whilst you amend your
    site, how could i subscribe for a weblog web site?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I were tiny bit
    acquainted of this your broadcast provided vibrant transparent concept

  6. It is appropriate time to make some plans for the future and
    it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could
    I wish to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions.
    Maybe you can write next articles referring to
    this article. I want to read more things about it!

  7. What i don’t understood is in fact how you are now not really much more neatly-preferred than you may be now. You’re very intelligent.
    You recognize therefore significantly in terms of this matter, made
    me individually imagine it from a lot of various angles. Its like
    men and women aren’t interested unless it is something to do with Lady gaga! Your personal stuffs excellent. Always take care of it up!

  8. I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both educative and engaging, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is an issue that too few people are speaking intelligently about. I’m
    very happy I stumbled across this during my search for something regarding this.

Leave a Reply

