Future

Isn’t the future so exciting? I don’t know what it was, but something just dawned on me that made me see the future in a much more positive light than usual. I just got off of the phone with one of my best girl friends from high school and we had a glorious conversation about the prospects of next year. With our personal New Year’s Resolutions and the first few months of school in our arsenal, we’re anticipating a promising 2013 (knock on wood)!

 Typically, I’m stressing about the risks and possibilities and potential disasters that the future holds. Then again, it’s mind blowing to know that I actually know nothing. I have absolutely no clue what the future holds. Only God knows that. The infamous quote always makes me smile, “we plan, and God laughs.” He’s already got it all figured out! It’s so important for us to remember that. 

In the mess of my perpetual planning, I have faith and have put my future in the hands of God. And when I might doubt this decision of mine, I remember another quote: “The will of God will not take you where the grace of God will not protect you.” Even though I may feel fearful or stressed when the “what-if’s” dance in my ears, God quiets them down and reminds me that He’s going to protect me and guide me along the path He has set for me. Sure, I’ve got to do my part and ensure that I stay on that path, but that’s life, and hey– I’ve already conquered 18 years! Here’s to the future.

Leave a Reply

