Holiday Spirit

With Christmas day drawing nearer and nearer, I can’t help but to feel a bit sad. Don’t you feel a deep rooted disappointment when the big day itself finally arrives? Because you’ll know it’ll be over in the blink of an eye? When I reflect on this feeling and wonder why I even feel it in the first place, my mind wanders from reason to reason…maybe I’m sad that the holiday drinks at Starbucks will soon be gone…or because the stockings and ornaments will have to be put away…perhaps I’m disappointed because I just want Christmas to last forever…

There was a Disney special I used to watch as a kid that portrayed a perpetual Christmas. Donald Duck’s nephews wished for it to be Christmas everyday. What they soon found was that the holiday couldn’t be on constant repeat: incessant holiday celebration gets really old, really fast. I’m not longing for Christmas day to last forever, per say. What I want to stick around after the 25th is the spirit of the holidays. I feel so close with my family around Christmas. I love seeing everyone happy, getting the opportunity to be hospitable, and watching generosity peek at canned food drives and toy donation stations. Why do we all need the excuse of Christmas to be jolly and generous? And why does it have to be New Year’s to make a resolution? Shouldn’t we be helping the less fortunate and striving to be our best selves all twelve months of the year? This is why I want Christmas to last forever: the spirit of giving and renewal. We should all take on the challenge of prolonging Christmas in this sense, imagine what a better place the world would be if we were always as generous and self-aware.

Leave a Reply

