Santa, can you hear me?

I just got home from attending my little cousins’ school Christmas Program. I was anticipating a fun night of reminiscing (I went to the same elementary/middle school), but instead my heart ached as I watched adorable, life-loving children perform and interact with one another. I cannot fathom the tragic event that took place today; I cannot imagine what each child felt as they heard gunshots and screams; I cannot begin to understand the grief of the parents waiting outside the school for their little one, only to leave empty handed, and arrive home to presents under the tree that will go unopened. What I can do, though, is take a very, very crucial reminder from this tragedy. 

Love one another. I had tears in my eyes when the pre-schoolers preformed “Santa, Can You Hear Me?” and held up large photos of their families as they sang the verse: “All I want is family here.” Get up right now and go hug your parents and your siblings. Text your friends and let them know how much you love them. Show love to everyone around you, including strangers. In the midst of this horrific event, we can take it upon ourselves to be more sincere, compassionate, gracious, kind, and loving.  Make every interaction you have with another person count. You don’t know what might happen tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

