Trying New Things

“If you want something you’ve never had, you must be willing to do something you’ve never done.” 

-Thomas Jefferson 

Okay, how true is this quote? One of my favorite bloggers (thecollegeprepster.com) wrote a bit about it a few days ago and inspired me to take a stab at it, too. Yesterday I wrote about seasons, and I think this quote dovetails well with the whole concept. When you find yourself in a new season, it is inevitable that you are going to encounter new challenges. And in order to grow during a season, you’ve got to be brave and meet these challenges– even if it means going beyond your comfort zone!

Trying new things is definitely something that, ironically, is new to me. I have always been content with my comfort zone, mostly because I’ve never left it (same town, same schools, same house!). I’m really trying to embrace it now: in my new SCU season of life. The endless opportunities of college have enticed my interests and have made me more ambitious than ever, making me want things I’ve never had. And, in the words of Mr. Jefferson, if I want to achieve those goals and obtain those novel things, I’ve got to put my adventure shoes on and climb some new mountains.  I think I’ll base my New Year’s Resolutions (yes, plural, I believe that there are an abundance of areas we can resolve to improve on in life and I try to address a variety of them) on this quote. What is the root of your New Year’s Resolution?

Leave a Reply

