Something To Think About

Pinterest is deadly. Don’t get me wrong: I am in love with it. My entire dorm room is derived from the Home Decor and DIY & Crafts categories. One thing that caught my eye over the summer was a shadowbox hanging on the wall which held tickets from events over the years. I loved the idea and began to mull the idea over in my head.

Then, as a late graduation present, I received a subway art wall plaque from a cousin. It is simplistic and the quote is divine,

“Enjoy the little things in life, for someday you will realize they were the big things.”

I mean, could this quote be more captivating? Wasn’t I just talking about appreciating the little things in life? How many times have I gotten caught up in finishing a paper or other homework and have completely disregarded to appreciate all of the little things facilitating those things? Or the countless times I have neglected to smile back at a stranger because I have to text a friend back? I became determined to somehow incorporate it into my room with significance.

Later that week, my high school friends and I decided to be pen pals. Letter writing, we decided, would be far easier than arranging Skype dates and phone calls. It would also be exciting since we would get mail! And then I remembered the quote, and the Pinterest shadow box.

One of my favorite parts of my room is my letter filled shadow box, with the infamous quote above it. These letters really are little things destined to become big things. Someday, whether it is a time of good or bad, I’ll look at these letters as prized possessions. This viewpoint can be adopted for so many things in life– I use it as a constant reminder of gratitude and appreciation. I invite everyone to use it, as well. What are your little things in life?

Leave a Reply

